CITY OF WESTMINSTER

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the Meeting of the Council of the City of Westminster held at 7.01 pm on Wednesday 9th November, 2022 at Westminster Council House, 97-113 Marylebone Road, London, NW1 5PT.

PRESENT

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Hamza Taouzzale

COUNCILLORS

Concia Albert Gillian Arrindell Barbara Arzymanow Geoff Barraclough Liza Begum David Boothroyd **Ruth Bush** Nafsika Butler-Thalassis Melvyn Caplan Maggie Carman Md Shamsed Chowdhury Laila Cunningham Lorraine Dean **Tony Devenish** Paul Dimoldenberg **Robert Eagleton Paul Fisher** Ed Pitt Ford Jim Glen **David Harvey** Sara Hassan Adam Hug Louise Hyams Ryan Jude Aicha Less Iman Less

Patrick Lilley Patricia McAllister Alan Mendoza Tim Mitchell Matt Noble Ellie Ormsby Ralu Oteh-Osoka Angela Piddock Robert Rigby Rachael Robathan Tim Roca Ian Rowley **Cara Sanquest Caroline Sargent** Karen Scarborough Mark Shearer Selina Short James Small-Edwards Judith Southern Max Sullivan Paul Swaddle Jessica Toale Aziz Toki Jacqui Wilkinson Jason Williams

1 NOTICE OF MOTION

1.1 Motion moved by Councillor Adam Hug and seconded by Councillor Rachael Robathan that the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderpeople on:

Mr Ian Adams Mrs Susie Burbridge Lady Christabel Flight Mrs Angela Harvey Mr Guthrie McKie Ms Papya Qureshi Ms Judith Warner

1.2 Motion put and on a show of hands declared **CARRIED**.

RESOLVED:

- (i) That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on:
 - (a) Mr Ian Adams who was first elected as a Westminster City Council in May 2002 and who retired in May 2022, and served as a Councillor for 20 years. He represented the wards of Little Venice and Hyde Park and sat on a number of Committees including time chairing the Licensing Committee. He served as Lord Mayor in 2017 – 2018 and was the Council's first Lead Member for LGBTQ+.
 - (b) Mrs Susie Burbridge who served as a member for the Lancaster Gate ward from May 1998 until May 2022, a total of 24 years. She was passionate about her local community and championing their issues, especially in regard to housing and services for older people. She served as Lord Mayor from 2011 – 2012.
 - (c) Lady Christabel Flight who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor in May 2006 and retired in May 2022, a total of 16 years serving the residents of Warwick Ward. She was passionate about services for older people and was the founder of the Silver Sunday programme. She served as Lord Mayor in 2015 – 2016.
 - (d) Mr Guthrie McKie who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor for Harrow Road ward in May 2002 and retired in May 2022, a total of 20 years. He sat on a number of Policy and Scrutiny Committees in relation to housing and was a tireless campaigner for more social housing in the City.
 - (e) Ms Papya Qureshi who served as a member for the Westbourne ward from May 2006 until May 2022, a total of 16 years. She was an active and passionate member of the Discretionary Housing Payments panel and sat on various Policy & Scrutiny Committees.
 - (f) Ms Judith Warner who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor, for the Abbey Road ward, in May 1984 and retired in May 2022, a total of 38 years. She chaired the Standards Committee for a number of years and implemented the Members' Social Media Policy. She served as Lord Mayor in 2010-2011.

- (ii) That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on:
 - (a) Mrs Angela Harvey who served as a member for the West End and Tachbrook wards from May 2002 until she retired in May 2022, a total of 20 years. She sat on many Committees and was Chairman of Licensing, Pension Board and Staff Appeals in her term of office. She served as Lord Mayor in 2012-13.

Over the years they had contributed so much to the work of the Council through their caring personality, wisdom, knowledge and vast experience between them undertaking the various roles of Members of numerous committees. They had served the Council and people of Westminster and in particular their constituents with enormous dedication and the Council was asked to agree that they each be honoured by the conferring of the title of Honorary Alderperson.

(iii) That the Council instruct the Chief Executive to make the necessary arrangements for the preparation and presentation of an address to the Honorary Alderpersons and authorise that the minor necessary expenditure be met from existing budgets.

The Meeting ended at 7.30 pm

CHAIRMAN:

DATE _____